Kohlrabi, Radish and Potato Hash Browns with Tomato Sauce Eggs

9 Nov

I’m really happy with how well this dish came out.  The hash browns were not quite as crispy as I might have liked, but the natural crunch of the radishes and kohlrabi worked well enough to still count this one a home run.  In the future, I might add one more potato, and certainly will do a more thorough job of drying out the kohlrabi, radish and potato mixture.  Still, though, yum.  This sauce was immensely flavorful thanks to the slightly bitter “tang” of the kohlrabi greens and it was a great foil to the creaminess of the egg.  This would also be delicious over some crispy polenta or a nice thick piece of whole wheat toast, but the flavors of the kohlrabi, radish and potato hash browns were a nice twist that kept my palate surprised and intrigued (in a good way!).  I’m thankful I stumbled across the recipe for “Hangover Eggs” from Stacey Snacks on which I based this recipe.  I figured if I could make zucchini latkes, I could make radish and kohlrabi latkes, and it was a hunch that paid off.  Anyway, we both really loved this dish.  Zak took the picture, which is an improvement of my usually sub-par ones (I don’t think I have the patience for plating or food photography, to be honest).

So far, I’m really impressed with the way the CSA has made me try out a few new things.  I’ve never had kohlrabi in my life before but I’m already excited about it as an ingredient to add to my stock pile.  I’m thinking it would be great on a crudités and pita plate with some hummus.

Kohlrabi, Radish and Potato Hash Browns with Tomato Sauce Eggs

Tomatoes and Eggs:

Adapted from Stacey Snacks

1 14 oz. can chopped San Marzano tomatoes

2 tsp. olive oil

1 cup kohlrabi greens, separated from tough center ribs and roughly chopped

1 tsp. dried parsley

1/2 small onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, chopped

2 tbs. tomato paste

2 farm fresh brown eggs

Kosher salt and freshly cracked black pepper

Add olive oil to a medium heavy, cast iron skillet and heat over medium heat.  Add garlic and onion.  Season with kosher salt and freshly cracked pepper and cook until onion is tender, 3-4 minutes.  Add kohrabi greens and stir to coat well with olive oil.  Sauté 1-2 minutes.  Add fresh tomatoes, canned tomatoes, and dried parsley simmer roughly 20 minutes over medium-low heat until thickened to form a sauce.  About halfway through, if necessary for thickness, add 1-2 tbs. tomato paste (I added 2 tbs.).  Taste and season with salt and freshly cracked black pepper if necessary.

Using a spoon, create 2 depressions or wells in the tomato sauce.  Carefully crack the egg yolks into the depressions.  Simmer, covered, until whites are set and yolks are to desired consistency, about ten minutes.  If you like your yolks completely set, transfer to the broiler for 2-3 minutes until completely cooked.  Spoon over cooked hash browns to serve.

Kohlrabi and Potato Hash Browns:

1 tbs. Brummel & Brown butter substitute

1 tbs. olive oil

4 radishes, shredded and drained

1 kohlrabi bulb, shredded and drained

2 small potatoes, shredded and drained

1 tbs. garlic powder

Kosher salt and freshly cracked black pepper

It is very important to make sure you have extracted as much moisture as possible from the kohlrabi, radishes, and potatoes.  Squeeze them through paper towels or dry with a kitchen towel.  I wish I would have done this more carefully.

Combine all ingredients except the Brummel & Brown and olive oil.  Season with garlic powder, kosher salt, and freshly cracked black pepper.

Heat olive oil and Brummel & Brown in a large, non-stick skillet over medium-high heat until very hot.  Add kohlrabi mixture in a single layer and pat down thoroughly with a spatula.  Reduce heat to medium and cook mixture until golden brown and crisp on the bottom, about 7 minutes.  I separated them into quarters to make them easier to flip (flipping is NOT a skill of mine.  Seriously.  I feel break the yolk every time I fry an egg.)  Flip and cook until crispy, about 5-7 minutes.  Serve topped with eggs and sauce.

Leave a Reply

