Apple and Pear Frangipane Galette

27 Nov

When we asked what I could contribute to Zak’s family Thanksgiving, I was told I could bring a dessert.  We all know I am not a dessert person.  However, I figured it couldn’t be that hard, and I wanted to contribute.  I’ve never worked with puff pastry before because I always found it intimidating, but it turns out it’s actually really easy to work with.  I’m glad I bought an extra package, because I have a few ideas of how I would like to use puff pastry again in the near future.

Anyway, this dessert was easy, pretty, and tasty.  I prepared it the evening before Thanksgiving and served it chilled and everyone who tried it seemed to enjoy it (or maybe they were just being nice, but I liked the few bites I had).

Apple and Pear Galette

Adapted from The Wives with Knives

Galette:

2 sheets puff pastry

1 egg yolk, lightly beaten

1 green apple, peeled, cored, and thinly sliced

1 Anjou pear, peeled, cored, and thinly sliced

2-3 tbs. butter, melted

2 tbs. honey

1/2 cup slivered almonds

Frangipane:

1/2 cup sugar

6 tbs. unsalted butter

2 eggs

1 tsp. French vanilla extract

2 cups slivered almonds, ground finely in food processor (yield 1 cup ground almonds)

2 tbs. all natural, whole wheat flour

Cream butter and sugar with a hand mixer.  Add egg and French vanilla extract and blend with hand mixer until smooth.  Add almond meal and flour and beat until a smooth past is formed.  Cover and cool in refrigerator.

Preheat oven to 375º.

Roll out puff pastry until 1/4″ inch thick, if necessary.  Trim edges if necessary to  make even.  Layer sheets over one another with about 1″ overlapping.  Using a sharp knife, score a 1/2″ border along edges of puff pastry (this allows the sides to rise above the rest of the pastry).  Prick the center all over with a fork.  Brush the borders with egg yolk.

Cover a baking sheet with tinfoil and spray with nonstick cooking spray (or line with parchment paper).

Top scored area with frangipane.  Layer fruit slices over the top, alternating between apples and pears.  Brush lightly with melted butter.  Bake for 30 minutes until golden and puffy.  Drizzle with honey and sprinkle with almonds.

3 Responses to “Apple and Pear Frangipane Galette”

  1. david November 30, 2010 at 6:39 pm #

    makes me want to drink alchoholic beverages

  2. April Wine October 23, 2013 at 3:37 pm #

    An apple or pear fruit wine might be a nice compliment to this galette – whether in drizzle form overtop or a glass.

    • kelseyincleveland October 23, 2013 at 8:11 pm #

      It certainly would be delicious! Maybe drizzled and on the side.

Leave a Reply

