Geauga Family Farms CSA – Week Four

4 Dec

Geauga Family Farms CSA – Week Four

Pictured above is our haul from this CSA, minus a few items I passed along to my parents (half of two heads of lettuce, 2-3 carrots, a kohlrabi, and an onion) and the half dozen eggs which I neglected to picture. Included you will see a few parsnips, a half dozen baby turnips, three heads of varying types of romaine, a half dozen carrots, a half dozen or so radishes, a bunch of Swiss chard, two kohlrabi, two red onions, a half dozen potatoes, a large head of broccoli, and a loaf of bread.

Last week we did not get a share of the CSA since it was so close to Thanksgiving.  I used up almost everything in the two week period, with the exception of a little bit of one head of romaine and a few potatoes and radishes.  I would love to say I used up every little tidbit, but it’s tough with just the two of us, especially since neither of us eats a large breakfast during the week and then we eat leftovers or out for lunch (I eat leftovers, Zak usually eats out or at his parents house, which is very close to where he works).  That’s part of the reason I passed some of this week’s produce onto my parents.

I was disappointed to find that the CSA wasn’t going to be offering any other winter blocks.  We still have a couple of weeks left, so I won’t get bummed too soon, but I know I’m going to miss the extremely fresh produce and the fun surprise of opening the box and starting to formulate the week’s meal plan around what I find inside.

Leave a Reply

