Geauga Family Farms CSA – Week Six

18 Dec

Geauga Family Farms CSA – Week Six

The last week of our winter CSA block is here.  Boooo.  This week had lots of fun goodies: a small bunch of beets, a bag of sweet potatoes, a bag of baby potatoes, a loaf of wheat bread, a bunch of Swiss chard, a jar of seedless raspberry jam, a kohlrabi bulb (he’d been through the ringer, poor guy), a pumpkin roll, a bunch of baby turnips and (I think) one large long turnip, a half dozen eggs, and a bunch of apples.

I really enjoyed the CSA concept as a whole and will certainly be participating in the summer share of Geauga Family Farms CSA.  I was very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the produce, especially considering the weather that the farmers had to deal with over the past six weeks.  If I could change anything, I would want a little bit less lettuce.  However, as a whole, I was so happy with the CSA.  Our pick up site was less than five minutes away, so it was amazingly convenient.  I also loved the surprise each week – not only did it press me to cook a lot more vegetarian and vegetable heavy meals, but it allowed me to try things I never had before and get creative to use up some of our less favorite ingredients.  If you are the type of person who is a picky eater or very anal (“particular” would probably be a better word choice on a recipe blog, but when the shoe fits …) about planning exactly what each and every component of each and every meal for the week is going to be, the CSA concept is not for you.  Really, my only regret about the CSA experience is that I wasn’t always able to use everything up in a week every single time.

I have some plans for this week’s bounty – tomorrow I’ll be making a roast chicken with baked sweet potato fries.  I’ll use some of the leftovers from the chicken along with apples, potatoes, and kohlrabi to make mulligatawny.

Leave a Reply

