Savory Sesame-Soy Oatmeal

14 Jun

I’m generally not much of a breakfast person.  While I enjoy a nice hearty breakfast on the weekends, it tends to take me awhile to work up an appetite – and I am certainly not going to wake up extra-early just so I can sit there waiting around until I’m ready to eat breakfast.  I love to eat, but I really, really love to sleep.

So I decided to start bringing a quick and easy breakfast to work, at least some days.  While homemade granola bars or a piece of fruit are both viable options, I decided to add oatmeal to the rotation.  However, I don’t have much of a sweet tooth.  A little Google-ing later, I decided upon the savory sesame-soy oatmeal below.  While savory oatmeal might sound a little strange at first glance, this was absolutely delicious.  It takes three minutes in the microwave and is warm, comforting, and packed with flavor.  I packed the oats in a container large enough to microwave and the soy, sesame oil, and spices in a small spill-proof container.

I didn’t bother posting a picture.  I’ve tried to take pictures of this dish on a few separate occasions and they always look terrible.  I know you all have wonderfully vivid culinary minds and can picture a nice bowl of yummy, delicious, savory, salty, umami-rich, monochromatic and totally boring-looking oatmeal.

Savory Sesame-Soy Oatmeal

1/2 cup old fashioned rolled oats

1 cup water

2 tsp. soy sauce

1 tsp. sesame oil

Pinch crushed red pepper flakes

Freshly cracked black pepper

Place oats and water in a microwave-safe container.  Microwave 2-3 minutes, or according to oat package instructions, until water is absorbed and oats and tender.  Watch carefully to make sure it doesn’t bubble over (I made this mistake the first time and got to clean out the office microwave – fun!).

Stir in soy sauce, sesame oil, crushed red pepper flakes, and black pepper.  Serve hot.

Alternatively, you can simmer the water and oatmeal in a small saucepan for 5-6 minutes over medium heat until oatmeal is tender and most of liquid has evaporated.  Then, stir is soy sauce, sesame oil, crushed red pepper flakes, and black pepper.

One Response to “Savory Sesame-Soy Oatmeal”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Adobo Oatmeal with a Soft Boiled Egg « Kelseyincleveland's Blog - June 20, 2011

    […] the concept of savory oatmeal, I’ve mostly stuck to the fairly straightforward and simple savory sesame-soy version, mostly because it’s incredibly easy to pack for work.  This version, with some […]

Leave a Reply

