Geauga Family Farms Summer CSA – Week Four

9 Jul

Summer CSA – Week Four

I am super excited about this week’s CSA haul.  Sugar plum fairies (or maybe kohlrabi gnomes?) are already dancing in my head with tons of ideas for how to use all of this delicious produce – as well as the leftovers from last week.  As promised, the share sizes are increasing as the season goes on.  I’m also very happy with the variation in items we’ve been receiving over the past four weeks.

From left to right, you see pictured about half a dozen pickling cucumbers, half a dozen stalks of rhubarb, a bag of red potatoes, two heads of lettuce, three gorgeously red tomatoes, two extraordinarily large sweet onions, a zucchini, a yellow squash, and three kohlrabi bulbs.

We made pretty good use of last week’s items, though we do have quite a bit left over.  My whole heart salad with creamy yogurt dressing was made from lettuce from week two of the CSA.  The lemon-vegetable risotto included green onions, zucchini, and a carrot from last week’s share.  The grilled panzanella was also chock full of delicious goodies from the CSA, including lettuce, green onions, and zucchini.  Finally the baked beans with collard greens I posted this morning included a carrot, some zucchini, and collard greens.  Unfortunately, I did have to toss some small heads of lettuce that weren’t looking so hot.

While I’m still brainstorming ideas for this week’s share, I will almost certainly include a recipe for some pickled cucumbers and rhubarb, ratatouille, and some Israeli couscous with vegetables.

3 Responses to “Geauga Family Farms Summer CSA – Week Four”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Geauga Family Farms CSA – Week Six « Kelseyincleveland's Blog - July 25, 2011

    […] bread and butter pickles I posted last week were made from the pickling cucumbers we received in week four.  I’ve really enjoyed having them around to snack on.  I also used them, as well as an […]

  2. Spiced Rhubarb Pickles « Kelseyincleveland's Blog - August 3, 2011

    […] I made these delicious spiced rhubarb pickles with fresh rhubarb from long-ago week four of the Geauga Family Farms CSA, I kept forgetting to take a picture of them so I could post the […]

  3. Geauga Family Farms CSA – Week Eight « Kelseyincleveland's Blog - August 6, 2011

    […] and coleslaw that I made.  As I noted, the rhubarb from the spiced rhubarb pickles was from week four, which just goes to show you how important it is to make use of perhaps unfamiliar techniques such […]

Leave a Reply

