Geauga Family Farms Summer CSA – Week Five

16 Jul

Summer CSA – Week Five

Pictured in this week’s share, you see three kohlrabi, two hearts of lettuce, a small head of cabbage, one ginormously gigantic sweet onion, three tomatoes, a zucchini, a yellow squash, and a cucumber.  Though the items are pretty similar to last week’s, I’m happy with the variation in what we received for the week.  As much as I like lettuce, I’m glad we didn’t receive an overwhelming amount.  I think I’m going to add eggs as an extra for next week – the farm fresh yolks are just so delicious and vibrant that I’m always disappointed by grocery store eggs now that I know what I’m missing.

From last week, we have leftover several of the potatoes, one tomato, one head of lettuce, a zucchini, and two kohlrabi bulbs.  Basically, we could have stood to use up a little bit more, but everything we have is still completely usable (and WILL be used!).  The phở bò, though delicious, didn’t use up any CSA ingredients.  On the other hand, the ratatouille I made used up a whole mess of them.  It was definitely the best ratatouille I’ve ever made, due in no small part to the peak freshness and high quality of the produce.  My collard green mac and cheese used up the last of the collards from two weeks ago.  I also made some bread and butter pickles, the recipe for which I will be posting shortly, and some spiced rhubarb pickles, which will be posted in the next few days.  Finally, I made a salad one day for lunch from some of the lettuce, a handful of almonds, and some balsamic and olive oil.

I really haven’t come to any final decisions as to what to make with this week’s share.  I never got around to the Israeli couscous with vegetables I mentioned last week, so I will probably make that.  I’m also thinking about some sort of vegetarian stuffed cabbage, some herbed baked tomatoes and kohlrabi, and a vegetable pasta dish of some sort.

2 Responses to “Geauga Family Farms Summer CSA – Week Five”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Geauga Family Farms CSA – Week Seven « Kelseyincleveland's Blog - July 30, 2011

    […] ayellow squash and half a head of cabbage leftover.  I ended up throwing a head of lettuce from week five that I found wilted in the back of my crisper into some homemade chicken stock I have simmering on […]

  2. Geauga Family Farms CSA – Week Eight « Kelseyincleveland's Blog - August 6, 2011

    […] a handful of cherry tomatoes, and two cucumbers.  I also have one bulb of kohlrabi leftover from week five which is looking a little pathetic.  I added a head of lettuce to my stock bag, but didn’t […]

Leave a Reply

