Geauga Family Farms CSA – Week Nine

13 Aug

Summer CSA – Week Nine

In this week’s CSA, we received a giant head of lettuce, a green bell pepper, a cucumber, four large tomatoes, seven gorgeous peaches, three hot peppers, one zucchini, a pint of grape tomatoes, and a watermelon.  I’m very excited about the inclusion of two types of fruit, especially since I’m a watermelon fanatic.  I also loved the hot peppers last week – they had a really great punch of heat to them.

Last week’s leftovers include the lettuce (oops!), the yellow squash, a tomato, the garlic, and the zucchini.  I still had my sad little kohlrabi bulb, so I threw it in my stock bag, which made me feel a little badly. [Edit: Shortly after this post, I rescued my kohlrabi from the freezer and added it to the brine for a roasted chicken … talk about a governor’s reprieve!]  The grilled corn on the cob with cilantro-garlic compound butter didn’t use any CSA ingredients, but it did use delicious local corn.  The savory sweet corn and tomato French toast used CSA cherry tomatoes and a CSA tomato as well as CSA eggs, the freshness of which really elevated the dish.  The delicious spicy gazpacho made use of both a tomato and a cucumber.  The green been and pepper stir fry used a bounty of CSA ingredients, including all of the green beans, a green bell pepper, a hot pepper, a sweet onion, and a cucumber.  My tomato and goat cheese baked eggs used up some cherry tomatoes and CSA eggs.  I also made chickpeas with roasted vegetables that made use of CSA cherry tomatoes and a CSA pepper as well as a CSA egg, the recipe for which I will be posting soon.  Finally, a cheesy corn and potato chowder I will be posting later today made use of CSA potatoes from awhile back.  I ate up all of the blackberries with either ricotto cheese or plain Greek yogurt and honey for breakfast at work.

For this week, I plan to make a chicken salad that I can serve over oodles of the CSA lettuce, beef short ribs in a tomato and pepper sauce, and zucchini fritters, perhaps with another version of gazpacho.  I’ll be eating the peaches as breakfasts and snacks.

2 Responses to “Geauga Family Farms CSA – Week Nine”

  1. Tammy August 13, 2011 at 11:58 am #

    If you don’t end up using all of your peaches, Martha Stewart has an online recipe using cornmeal to make an upside down peach cake. It is simply the best. You do it in a pan and put the pan in the oven. I’m not a dessert person but really, this is so good.

    • kelseyincleveland August 13, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

      Thanks for the tip! I’m not much of a dessert person, either, but that recipe looks divine.

Leave a Reply

