Geauga Family Farms CSA – Week Fourteen

18 Sep

Summer CSA – Week Fourteen

This week’s CSA share included two small eggplants, two green bell peppers, one light green pepper, four carrots, a head of garlic, a bundle of redskin potatoes, a bunch of green beans, a bundle of rainbow Swiss chard, a heart of lettuce, some apples, and four tomatoes (Zak ate two before taking the picture).  I’m really excited about the Swiss chard, as to the best of my recollection, we haven’t received any since our winter share.

Our leftovers from last week included a tomato I had to toss because it went bad, the green beans, one boiled ear of corn I threw in the freezer for winter use, and the watermelon.  I’m quite behind on posting my recipes, so I can’t yet link to all of my uses of last week’s bounty.  Zak used two watermelons as a component of a watermelon summer ale he is brewing.  I used the hot pepper in the oven-baked spicy whole red snapper – in fact, it inspired the entire marinade.  The pan-fried corn fritters made use of CSA corn and a CSA bell pepper.  As to what happened to the rest … I guess you’ll just have to wait and see!

As for this week’s share, I haven’t had a whole lot of time to brainstorm, since I’ve spent the afternoon catching up on homework after spending my weekend enjoying a beautiful weekend in South Bend of Irish football.  I am definitely going to combine my leftover green bean’s with this week’s haul to make some more of my crispy oven-roasted variety, though I’ll mix up the seasonings to match whatever I am pairing them with.  I’m thinking about roasting the eggplant and carrots and combining them to make a roasted eggplant and carrot soup – maybe I’ll throw a tomato or two in there as well.  I’m really looking forward to quickly sautéeing the Swiss chard and serving it with some smashed potatoes and a (hopefully) interesting combination of spices.  I will likely be eating the apples out of hand this time around, since I regretted using all of them for another purpose and not having them to snack on – it led to a lot of shameful vending machine purchases last week, which I really can’t afford.  Other than that, I’m not sure, but I am sure I will enjoy all of our fresh and delicious produce.

2 Responses to “Geauga Family Farms CSA – Week Fourteen”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Geauga Family Farms CSA – Week Fifteen « Kelseyincleveland's Blog - September 25, 2011

    […] half of the green beans.  The grilled skirt steak and pepper salad used lettuce and a tomato from week fourteen, and peppers and corn from week thirteen.  Slow cooker apple butter used apples from week […]

  2. Geauga Family Farms CSA – Week Sixteen « Kelseyincleveland's Blog - October 1, 2011

    […] potato and Swiss chard casserole used the potatoes, bell pepper, tomatoes, and Swiss chard from week fourteen, CSA garlic, and cheese I had ordered from the CSA as an extra.  My Chinese style sweet and spicy […]

Leave a Reply

