Grilled Skirt Steak and Pepper Salad

19 Sep

The first two times I went over my in-laws for dinner, they served steak over salad – I think they used flank, which is in my mind closely related to skirt.  Up until now, I hadn’t tried to recreate it at home.  When I stopped by the grocery store on my way home from school to pick up some beer and flour, some really lovely looking and inexpensive skirt steak caught my eye.  It was a nice day out and I figured, knowing Cleveland, we may not have a whole heck of a lot of a grilling season left.  So I impulsively threw it in my basket, whipped up a marinade, and set my heart on a grilled steak salad for dinner.

I’m really glad I had the experience of those yummy steak salads at my in-laws to inspire me, because this was absolutely delicious.  The steak was melt-in-your mouth tender and incredibly juicy.  The juices coated the lettuce to form a sort of smokey, savory dressing.  The spicy and acidic marinade played well with the candy-like sweetness of the roasted peppers and summer tomatoes, and the sweet corn added an interesting crunch to the whole thing.

 This salad also made for really great leftovers.  I just packed it in a Gladware and let it come to room temperature while I studied in the library, then grazed away once the anticipation overwhelmed me.  A yummy, healthy lunch really makes the day go by quickly (although I undid my healthiness by smashing half a dozen pieces of pizza for dinner while working the Moot Court booth at the Student Organization fair …), so if you have a long day ahead of you, I suggest leaving yourself leftovers.

Grilled Skirt Steak and Pepper Salad

Grilled Skirt Steak:

1 lb. skirt steak

3 cloves garlic, minced

1/4 cup red wine vinegar

1/4 cup olive oil

1 tsp. chili powder

1 tsp. ground coriander

1 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes

Kosher salt and freshly cracked black pepper

Combine all ingredients in a zip lock bag large enough to hold the steak.  Let marinate, refrigerated, for about six hours.

Remove from refrigerator about an hour before cooking time and let come to room temperature.  Reserve marinade.

Preheat coals to very, very high temperature, banked to one side of your grill.  Place steak on the grill and brush with marinade.  Grill 4-6 minutes per side, depending on thickness, for medium rare.  Make sure to brush the second side with marinade.

Remove steak from grill and cover with foil.  Let rest 10 minutes.  Cut into 4-5″ segments with the grain of the meat.  Then, cut into strips about 1/4″ thick against the grain of the meat.  Reserve residual juices.

Grilled Peppers:

6 mild peppers

Non-stick cooking spray

Kosher salt and freshly cracked black pepper

About three minutes before adding your steak (see above), add peppers.  Grill until charred on one side.  Flip and move to the side of the grill without banked coals.  Cook until charred all around and tender.

Salad:

10 cups of lettuce of choice, roughly chopped if hearts or heads

1 large tomato, cut into slices

1 cob corn, boiled 5-6 minutes, kernels removed, cob discarded (or reserve for stock or cheesy corn and potato chowder)

Skirt steak and grilling juices, from above

Grilled peppers, from above (if desired, cut into slices)

Combine all ingredients, pouring grilling juices over the salad, in a large bowl and, if desired, toss to combine.

One Response to “Grilled Skirt Steak and Pepper Salad”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Geauga Family Farms CSA – Week Fifteen « Kelseyincleveland's Blog - September 25, 2011

    […] include one yellow pepper, a few apples, a bit of lettuce, and about half of the green beans.  The grilled skirt steak and pepper salad used lettuce and a tomato from week fourteen, and peppers and corn from week thirteen.  Slow […]

Leave a Reply

