Geauga Family Farms CSA – Week Fifteen

25 Sep

Summer CSA – Week Fifteen

In this week’s CSA share, we received about half a dozen sweet Yummy orange peppers, one yellow squash, two hot banana peppers, a small head of garlic, a bunch of collard greens, a bunch of apples, a head of lettuce, a bag of green beans, some tomatoes, two green peppers, half a dozen very hot peppers, an eggplant, and some potatoes.  I’m very excited about all the variation, particularly in the peppers.

Our leftovers from last week include one yellow pepper, a few apples, a bit of lettuce, and about half of the green beans.  The grilled skirt steak and pepper salad used lettuce and a tomato from week fourteen, and peppers and corn from week thirteen.  Slow cooker apple butter used apples from week thirteen.  I also used the slow cooker apple butter in the delicious apple butter pancakes.  The roasted eggplant, tomato, and carrot soup used eggplant, a tomato, garlic and carrots from week fourteen.  I have a few other recipes up my sleeves as to how I used up the ingredients, as well.  I also made crispy roasted green beans again, because they were so absolutely delicious

For dinner tonight, I’m going to make some slow cooked Chinese-style pork ribs with a stir fry of green beans, peppers, and squash.  I’m thinking about making some spicy collard greens with a few pieces of bacon I have hanging around.  I’m hoping to make a hot pepper relish with some of the peppers.  Other than that, I’m not too sure, but whatever it is I’m sure it will be delicious.

Leave a Reply

