Geauga Family Farms CSA – Week Sixteen

1 Oct

Summer CSA – Week Sixteen

In this week’s share, we received two hearts of green and red lettuce, three long red peppers, a head of garlic, about half a dozen stalks of rhubarb, a green bell pepper, a bag of sweet potatoes, a dozen or so apples, and some green beans.  Those long red peppers are looking particular delicious, although now that I have my new favorite healthy snack food of crispy roasted green beans, I’m always excited to see those as well.  Thanks to my mother in law, I didn’t have to drag myself through the freezing rain in order to pick up the share – I had it hand delivered to the back door. Thanks, B!

From last week, we still have a few of the hot peppers, a few of the sweet orange peppers, a couple tomatoes, some green beans, the lettuce, some of the potatoes, and the yellow squash.  I think it’s the largest amount of leftovers we’ve had in awhile – it was also probably the largest share we’d received all season, and school was really busy for me so I didn’t feel like making elaborate meals.  The smashed potato and Swiss chard casserole used the potatoes, bell pepper, tomatoes, and Swiss chard from week fourteen, CSA garlic, and cheese I had ordered from the CSA as an extra.  My Chinese style sweet and spicy pork ribs with soba chow mein pepper and green bean stir fry used a plethora of CSA ingredients, including orange and cinnamon peach preserves I made awhile back, CSA tomato, garlic, hot pepper, bell peppers, and green beans.  Finally, the spicy crock pot collard greens used the collard greens and a lot pepper from last week’s share.  I am currently simmering away a big crock pot full of homemade apple butter with CSA apples to pass along to my mom, and also used several as snacks and in the brine for a roasted chicken.

Some of this week’s apples already went into the batch of homemade apple butter I have bubbling away in the slow cooker.  I’m hoping to make a monstrous salad one night this week to use up some of the lettuce I have stockpiled in my crisper and a few extra vegetables.  My initial thought is to roast and stuff those really lovely long red peppers.  I am going to roast off the remainder of my leftover peppers and throw them in the freezer for future use lest they go bad.  I’m not sure what to do with the rhubarb, though I liked my previous pickled version so perhaps I will repeat that.  Then again, I might cook it down to use as a glaze on the sweet potatoes …. hmmm.  Basically, ideas are still percolating.  We’ll see!

Leave a Reply

