Geagua Family Farms CSA – Week Seventeen

9 Oct

Summer CSA – Week Seventeen

I apologize in the delay in posting this CSA update, I’m having computer troubles.  My PC is currently being evaluated by the smart tech people over at Microcenter, and I’m struggling to remember how to efficiently use a MacBook.

Anyway, in this week’s share we received about half a dozen red onions, two small green bell peppers, a heart of red and green leafy lettuce, a bag of redskin potatoes, two eggplants, a head of garlic, some apples, and some more green beans.  We were warned the shares may be a little light this week to due to the monsoon like rains of last weekend.

From last week’s share, I still have leftover the green pepper, some lettuce, the garlic, and the green beans.  The apples and oranges chicken made use of some CSA apples.  In order to use up the rhubarb and some sweet potatoes, I created rhubarb glazed sweet potatoes, which were a delicious combination of earthy sweetness and bright tartness.  The pork and pepper jacked stuffed peppers with spicy polenta used up the long sweet peppers as well as a bit of hot pepper from the previous week.  The rest of the sweet potatoes went into the pork and sweet potato empanadas.

The only thing I have planned for this week almost definitively is a meat loaf with some roasted potatoes and onions.  I have an excess of green beans that I need to find a way to use up, so I’ve been brainstorming ideas as to how to do that.  Some will surely be roasted, but I am thinking about pickling some as well.  Half the fun of the CSA is figuring out how to use all of the ingredients, so I’m sure I’ll have a good time dreaming up a few extra dishes.

Leave a Reply

