Meatloaf Macaroni and Cheese

14 Oct

One of the great things about making a meatloaf is the leftovers.  In particular, the meatloaf sandwich, which is seriously delicious.  However, once I had a few of those, I started wondering what else I could do with the meatloaf I had left.  This easy pasta bake was born of my desire for some mac and cheese and my need to use as many leftovers as possible.  The meatloaf combined perfectly with the cheddar and creamy cottage cheese and really rounded out this yummy baked pasta dish.  I devoured this for lunch, happy I still had one more serving of meatloaf to make a repeat performance in the next day or two.  Any time you can combine two wonderful comfort foods into one with such harmonious result, it’s worth doing again and again.

Meatloaf Macaroni and Cheese

1 cup whole wheat pasta shells, cooked according to package instructions

1/3 cup leftover apple butter glazed meatloaf, roughly chopped

1 tbs. butter

2 tbs. whole wheat flour

1/2 cup milk (I used 1%)

1/2 cup small curd cottage cheese, drained over the sink in a mesh colander

1/4 cup cheddar cheese, finely shredded

Kosher salt and freshly cracked black pepper

Preheat oven to 325º.

In a large non-stick sauté pan, melt butter over medium heat.  A little bit at a time, whisk in the flour until a paste forms.  Slowly whisk until a smooth paste forms.  Whisk in cottage cheese and then cheddar cheese until mostly smooth.  Not all of the curds from the cottage cheese will dissolve – that’s okay.  Season with kosher salt and freshly cracked black pepper.

Add meatloaf and noodles and toss to combine.  Transfer to an oven-proof bowl.

Bake 20 minutes until golden brown.

3 Responses to “Meatloaf Macaroni and Cheese”

  1. Sugel October 20, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

    This was a great recipe that wowed my wife when she arrived home from work.I did find that you might need to drain the cottage cheese over the sink before continuing.I added a little bit of garlic powder and some salt and pepper to liven it up a bit. I used full-fat cottage cheese and then low fat cheddar and sour cream and it came out great.

    • kelseyincleveland October 21, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

      Excellent point! I added it to the ingredient list for clarification. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  2. Lori Lynn October 21, 2011 at 8:21 am #

    Meatloaf? Brilliant idea. Bet it tasted heavenly!
    LL

Leave a Reply

