Geauga Family Farms Winter CSA – Week Two

12 Nov

Geauga Family Farms Winter CSA – Week Two

Sorry for the delay in posting this week’s CSA share – I didn’t pick it up until Friday.  The homeowner of my pick up site was kind enough to hold it overnight for me, since I couldn’t make the pick up slot due to a school obligation.  School is getting really crazy-pants, but I’m doing my best to keep the blog up-to-date.

In this week’s winter CSA share, we received a dozen or so chocolate chip cookies, a small bag of onions, a small heart of green lettuce, a medium heart of red lettuce, an insanely huge and awesome-looking daikon radish, some really gorgeous, a lovely bitter purple green of some kind red Russian kale, a bag of apples, a butternut squash, and two large sweet potatoes.

Since I already have some lettuce leftover from last week, I am a bit overwhelmed with the fact that we received a bunch more this week.  I’m going to have to adjust my meal plans for this week to include some more salads.  I roasted off the beets we had left on Thursday and put them in the freezer for future use.  I did the same with the green bell pepper – it’s always nice to have leftover vegetables in the freezer.  I still have some turnips left, which I plan to roast off with a whole chicken in the next couple of days alongside some potatoes.  I also have a cabbage left over from the last week of the summer CSA that I need to find something to do with.

I found a recipe for a stuffed apple with a sweet crumble that I am thinking about making for breakfast tomorrow with some of the apples.  I already baked a sweet potato and ate it last night.  I’m excited to find a way to eat the purple greens (whatever they are) – they are wonderfully bitter, and I think they would be great braised, perhaps alongside some of the sweet daikon radish.

One Response to “Geauga Family Farms Winter CSA – Week Two”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sweet Pickled Daikon Radish « Kelseyincleveland's Blog - November 28, 2011

    […] are pretty, delicious, and different.  I had an absolutely ginormous daikon radish from the CSA, as you may remember, and needed to use it up ASAP a couple of weeks ago.  As I stated, I had been […]

Leave a Reply

