Geauga Family Farms Winter CSA – Week Three

17 Nov

Geauga Family Farms Winter CSA – Week Three

On the way over to the CSA today, Zak and I saw two young pit bull puppies running around together.  It was dark and snowing they had absolutely no street sense – darting across the road willy-nilly, including when cars were coming and going.  We were on side streets, so we pulled over.  We both got out and called to the puppies but they continued to scamper away.  We followed them as long as we could before they went into some backyards and we lost sight of them, when I called police department.  The very nice lady who answered the phone stated they would send out a unit and call animal control.  It didn’t look like the poor things had collars on.  I hate seeing stray dogs – particularly stray pits, because of the terrible prejudice against the breed.  It makes me angry and sad that someone might have simply let them go on the streets.  These dogs were fairly young – maybe five or six months – and it’s so cold out tonight.  I wish I could have coaxed them into the car.

I apologize for my dog-related tangent.  But I hope this serves as a reminder that when you see stray or lost dogs, you should call someone.  It might not always be the wisest move to approach them.  Use your best judgment.  But at the least, note their location and call information for local animal control.

Anyway … this week’s basket included seven golden beets, a head of cauliflower, bok choy, a pie pumpkin, two heads of lettuce (one red and one green), half a dozen potatoes, and a pumpkin roll.  I’m very excited about the beets, which always get used due to their excellent freeze-ability, the cauliflower, because we haven’t seen any since last year’s winter share to my recollection, and the pumpkin, because, well, ’tis the season.

Leftovers from last week include loads of lettuce, some butternut squash, a bit of the red Russian kale, and the daikon radish (which I am planning on pickling for a crudites platter for Thanksgiving).

For this week, I plan to roast some of the cauliflower in one form or another and pickle some of the rest of it.  I’m not sure what to do with the beets, but I’m thinking about roasting them and then making some sort of beet vinaigrette as a salad dressing – especially since I so desperately in need of using up lettuce.  The pumpkin roll is going into the freezer to bring to a Thanksgiving celebration.  Other than that, I’m not sure!

Leave a Reply

