Sweet Pickled Daikon Radish

28 Nov

These daikon radish pickles are pretty, delicious, and different.  I had an absolutely ginormous daikon radish from the CSA, as you may remember, and needed to use it up ASAP a couple of weeks ago.  As I stated, I had been planning on bringing a relish tray along to Thanksgiving, so I thought pickling the radish would be a wise move.  I chose this recipe because I guessed – correctly, which is more than I can say for the last constitutional law quiz I took – that the turmeric would impart a lovely yellow color to the radishes that would look pretty next to some pickled beets and dill pickles.  They also tasted lovely, with a hint of sweetness and a really interesting umami from the sesame oil.

Sweet Pickled Daikon Radish

Adapted from Tyler Florence

1 cup rice vinegar

1 cup water

1 cup sugar

1 tsp. sesame oil

1/4 tsp. tumeric

About 1 lb. daikon radish, sliced into 1/4″ thick rounds (or half moons if your radish was huge like mine)

1/4 cup kosher salt

In a small saucepan, heat vinegar, water, sugar, sesame oil, and tumeric over medium-high heat to a boil.  Whisk to make sure all sugar is combined.  Let cool.

Meanwhile, toss radish slices and kosher salt together and let drain in a colander for about an hour.  Rinse the daikon.

Place daikon in a canning jar and pour cooled sugar and water mixture over.  Seal tightly.  Refrigerate at least over night before serving.

2 Responses to “Sweet Pickled Daikon Radish”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Geauga Family Farms Winter CSA – Week Four « Kelseyincleveland's Blog - December 2, 2011

    […] I will post in the next few days.  I also want to make some sort of bahn mi to use some of the sweet pickled daikon radish and lovely red cabbage.  I just have to decide what type of bahn mi to make and whether I want to […]

  2. Butter and Thyme Roasted Radish Frittata « Kelseyincleveland's Blog - December 8, 2011

    […] to buy a daikon radish at the grocery store and now I can’t get enough of them – pickled, roasted, I’ll take it […]

Leave a Reply

