Geauga Family Farms Winter CSA – Week Five

9 Dec

Winter CSA – Week 5

In this week’s CSA, we received a small butternut squash, the hugest bok choy I’ve ever seen, a loaf of whole wheat bread, a half dozen eggs, two little heads of cauliflower, a bunch of kale, a bag of spinach, a bag of potatoes, some carrots, two little heads of crazy-but-awesome looking green lettuce, and a head of red lettuce.

As usual, I have an excess of lettuce.  I really, really need to eat more salads.  I love dark leafy greens like kale and collards – those fly out of the fridge.  But lettuce – not so much.  I have to force myself to make at least a side salad a few days this week to mow through some of the copious amounts of lettuce we have from this and previous CSA weeks.  I ended up throwing some lettuce into the stock bag and some into the trash last night, which I absolutely loathe doing.  Other than that, I used up almost everything from last week’s share, although I have a couple of butternut squash milling about at this point as well as some potatoes and half a head of red cabbage.

I’m not sure what I want to do with everything this week.  I’m thinking about some braised dark greens (and perhaps red cabbage) with cannellini beans one night.  I ate one of those cute little heads of lettuce for breakfast today with two over-easy eggs and some toast with a splash of balsamic – it sounds weird, but it was totally delicious and I’m looking forward to a repeat performance soon.  Potatoes and carrots are always perfect for a stew – I made one last night for which I will be posting the recipe, and since stews are so comforting and easy, I’ll probably be making more.  I will probably use the super-huge bok choy in a stir-fry (or two or three), but we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

