Baked Egg in Butternut Squash

4 Jan

I had a butternut squash I wanted to roast off and throw in the freezer, but once I had halved it, I thought it would make a really yummy serving vessel for a baked egg.  My hunch was correct.  The salty umami of the fish sauce and spice from the sriracha worked really well with the sweet butternut squash and creamy, golden goodness of the yolk.

Because I hadn’t planned to use the squash as a serving vessel initially, I cut off the bottom end.  I recommend you don’t do that – as you can see, the egg sort of leaks out (despite my artfully-fashioned stopper on the end made from toothpicks and the lopped-off end).  Even so, this was a delicious, nutritious, and easy brunch dish that I can’t wait to make again.

Baked Egg in Butternut Squash

1 butternut squash, halved lengthwise, seeds removed

2 tbs. olive oil

Kosher salt and freshly cracked black pepper

2 eggs

2 tsp. fish sauce

2 tbs. sriracha

A few leaves fresh basil, for garnish

Preheat oven to 350°.

Coat butternut squash with olive oil and season liberally with salt and pepper.  Place on a tinfoil-lined baking sheet, flesh side up, and bake 30 minutes until fork tender.

Carefully remove from oven and brush the squash with fish sauce and sriracha.  Crack an egg into the hollow.

Return to oven and cook 7-8 minutes until whites of egg are set and yolk is warmed through but not cooked.  Garnish with basil and serve immediately.

One Response to “Baked Egg in Butternut Squash”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Butternut Squash and Ricotta Eggs en Cocotte « Kelseyincleveland's Blog - January 7, 2012

    […] loved my baked egg in butternut squash so much that I figured I would use my leftover butternut squash half to make a spin on it.  The […]

Leave a Reply

