Chipotle-Honey Glazed Tofu

4 Feb

Ever since discovering the method of dry frying tofu, I’ve been itching to try it out in a few different formats.  I was craving something spicy and sweet, so I quickly threw together a chiptotle-honey marinade while dry frying the tofu.  It imparts a really nice flavor to the tofu, with the perfect balance of sweetness, tanginess, smokiness, and spice.  The great thing about this dish is that since you are dry frying the tofu ahead of time, all you have to do is throw the tofu and marinade together into a pan and let the marinade reduce to a glaze while the tofu heats up.

Seriously, this dish could not be any easier, which is something I much appreciate due to my hectic schedule and frequent late nights at school and oral argument practice downtown.  One of the most frustrating aspects of being mega-busy the way I currently am is not having time to unwind and try new things in the kitchen.  Or be in the kitchen at all, really.  Plus, it means having to buy lunch, since I haven’t been able to plan for leftovers.  At least it’s Febru-any at Subway, I guess.  As much as I am enjoying moot court, I cannot wait until the end of this month when competition is over and I can start working my way through my ever-growing list of “must try” recipes.  I miss being able to spend hours in the kitchen, looking at food websites, writing and re-writing grocery lists, and digging into the first bite of something really damn good that took a fair bit of work to prepare.  To me, it’s one of the most rewarding feelings out there.  So, all, please bear with me the next few weeks while the recipes stay a little scattered (or at times non-existent) and I’ll be back to near-daily posting in no time!

Chipotle-Honey Glazed Tofu

1 14 oz. package extra firm tofu

3 tbs. honey

1/4 cup canola oil

1/3 cup apple cider vinegar

1 chipotle in adobo, minced

1 tbs. adobo sauce

Kosher salt and freshly cracked black pepper

Cut tofu into 1/4″ slices.  Cover a kitchen towel with a paper towel and place tofu on the towel.  Add another paper towel and kitchen towel and place a heavy, flat object on top of the tofu.  I prefer to use a cast iron pan, but a pan or baking sheet weighed down with canned goods is another good option.

Meanwhile, whisk together remaining ingredients.

Heat a dry cast iron pan over medium heat.  Add tofu, working in batches if necessary.  Cook about 5-6 minutes per side until golden-brown and no longer moist.

Transfer dry-fried tofu and marinade into a ziplock bag.  Marinate at least 3-4 hours or up to overnight, shifting bag as necessary to ensure even marinating.

Heat a 10″ cast iron pan over medium-high heat.  Add marinade and tofu.  Cook over medium heat 10 minutes until tofu is heated through and marinade is reduced to a glaze, flipping tofu over halfway through cooking.

Serve with rice, added to a stir fry, in a sandwich, or as desired.

5 Responses to “Chipotle-Honey Glazed Tofu”

  1. Bridget Hallmark June 18, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

    WOW that was delicious. Darlin you will be saving me many trips to the evil WF salad bar with this one. I am forever in your debt, many thanks for sharing.

    • kelseyincleveland June 18, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

      I’m so glad you enjoyed it!

      • Bridget Hallmark August 12, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

        Ok, I am back and still love this recipe BUT do you have any techniques to share re: splattering? I get lots of little tiny burns and the kitchen’s a mess! Is it just a matter of turning down the heat?

  2. kelseyincleveland August 12, 2012 at 8:13 pm #

    Bridget – there are a couple of things you could do. One thing is a big mesh “anti-splatter” cover (google anti oil screen, oil screen, or steel splatter screen). I don’t own one, so I keep the heat to the point where it isn’t splattering and use longer tongs, or just deal with the clean up if I am careless. I also try to use a higher sided pan, which really cuts down on clean up and splattering generally. If your splattering issue is where you add the glaze, definitely try to reduce the heat (and increase the cooking/reducing time, if necessary). Stoves are finnicky. I’ve noticed even from one burner to another on the exact same heat setting that medium or medium-high splatters or doesn’t depending on the burner. Let me know if you have more problems, since I’d love to update the recipe!

    • Bridget Hallmark August 13, 2012 at 9:03 pm #

      You are so fast to respond, thank you for the tips. Sounds like for a clod like me, the big mesh cover thingy is just the ticket. I shall google, thank you again for the recipe and the replies!

      I did alter your ingredients with a little cheat. The first time I tried it I could not get my hands on the chipotle pepper in adobo sauce but I had something called “Virginia Gentleman Chipotle Glaze” hanging around without a job to do, so I used that as a sub and it worked really well. So, not as homemade as I’d like but close enough for me.

      You are right, stoves are finicky. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

