New Feature: Bento Box Lunch Wednesdays

4 Apr

New Feature: Bento Box Lunch Wednesdays

Granted, “bento box lunch Wednesdays” doesn’t have the nice ring to it that “Meatless Mondays” does.  Unfortunately, there is not a day of the week that starts with “B.”

In any case, I thought it would be a fun and interesting feature to try and do a post on every other week (or so).  Since playing around with the concept last week, I purchased a 700 mL microwavable liquid tight bento lunch box with an insulated carrying case and chopsticks.  Even though I knew what to expect, I was initially surprised at how small the thing was – and this is despite the fact that for my age, height, and weight, I really should only need a 600 mL bento. Still, it was easy to see as soon as I packed my first meal that it would be enough for me for lunch.

I committed to making myself a bento lunch at least once a week, preferably all three days I pack a lunch.  Not only will this project keep me motivated to pack lunches for the remainder of the school year and once I am working full time over the summer, but it will help me find interesting ways to use up leftovers and (hopefully) discover new and interesting ways to combine food.

Usually, my bentos will be made up of leftovers from meals I have previously posted.  I won’t be making my bentos particularly pretty or cutesy, because, well, I’m lazy.  And while I love a nicely plated meal as well as the next girl, when it comes to lunches, I’m not particularly fussy.  The food won’t be strictly Asian-themed, and I’m sure I’ll stray from the recipe of three servings carbs, two servings veggie or fruit, and one serving protein from time to time.  Generally, I will provide a “recipe” in the form of a list of components, with links to previous posts or brief instructions where the components were not derived from a leftover of a recipe I posted.

So, without further ado, here is the make up of my very first bento lunch box –

Bento Components:

About 1 cup jasmine rice with about 1 1/2 tsp. soy sauce¹

1 serving silken tofu in aromatic broth, tofu only

1 serving enoki mushrooms from silken tofu in aromatic broth

About 1/4 cup mushrooms and onions sautéed in olive oil and butter²

1/4 cup shell-on edamame (not pictured)

 ¹To make rice component:

Bring 1 cup of water to a rolling boil.  Add a splash of preferred oil (I use olive oil).  Add 1/2 cup of jasmine rice.  Allow water to return to a boil and then reduce heat to medium-low to maintain a simmer.  Cover and simmer for 20 minutes until rice is soft.  Add desired amount of soy sauce.

²To make mushroom and onion component:

Add 1/2 tbs. of butter and 1 tbs. olive oil to a large sauté pan.  Melt butter over medium heat.  Add mushrooms and onions.  Season with a bit of kosher salt and freshly cracked black pepper.  Sauté, stirring frequently, until vegetables are desired consistency.

One Response to “New Feature: Bento Box Lunch Wednesdays”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chipotle and Coffee Tofu Wrap « Kelseyincleveland's Blog - April 14, 2012

    […] need some super-easy weeknight meals from time to time.  I packed the components separately in my bento box for lunch the next day, and it traveled well and tasted great […]

Leave a Reply

