Udon Noodle Soup with Miso-Dashi Broth

7 Apr

Do you go through food phases?  I know I certainly do.  I’ll go through a stretch where I can’t get enough of Tex-Mex or Southwestern food, switch over to string of Midwest comfort classics, and then switch gears into some Asian fare.  Clearly, I’ve been in a bit of an Asian mode recently, probably thanks to my obsessively reading novels set in Japan.  Since I just finished Kafka on the Shore, maybe I should switch to something set in the Southwest or Latin America so I can stick to my menu plan, which includes enchiladas.

It’s pretty hard to want to get out of the Asian-arena, though, after you make something as easy and delicious as this soup.  The miso and dashi base of this soup is extremely flavorful and light.  The vegetables provide a nice mix of colors and textures.  Udon noodles have a slightly chewy texture that worked really well here.

Udon Noodle Soup with Dashi Broth

1 lb. udon noodles

6 cups water

3 tsp. instant dashi

2 tbs. white miso

3 cups baby bok choy, rinsed clean

2 cups oyster mushrooms, thinly sliced

1/2 cup enoki mushrooms

1 large carrot, peeled and thinly sliced

Bring water to a boil.  Add dashi and miso paste and whisk to combine.  Return to a boil and add udon noodles.  Cook 2-3 minutes until noodles are al dente.  Add  bok choy, both types of mushrooms, and carrot.  Cover and cook another 2-3 minutes until vegetables are crisp-tender.

Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

