Kimchi and Egg Grilled Cheese

26 Apr

On Wednesdays and Fridays during the school year, I work from 8:30 to 12:30 downtown.  Because I am a dummy, I consistently do not eat breakfast before I go in.  So, by the time I get home slightly after one in the afternoon, I am ravenous.  Sometimes I spend half of the morning with my mind wandering, thinking about what I could make myself for lunch that would be fast but yummy.  And for some reason, one day I thought to myself, “kimchi grilled cheese.”  In order to cut the heat and pungent fermented flavor of the kimchi, I decided to add a creamy sunny-side up egg.  The bold, sharp cheddar stood up well to the flavorful kimchi.  The mayonnaise added another layer of tangy creaminess.  The flavors were different and interesting, and I am looking forward to playing around with them in the future.

Kimchi and Egg Grilled Cheese

2 slices whole wheat bread

1/3 cup kimchi, thoroughly drained

1/3 cup sharp cheddar cheese, grated

1 tbs. mayonnaise

1 tbs. butter

1 egg

Nonstick cooking spray

Spread one side of each slice of bread with mayonnaise.  Top each slice with roughly half of the cheese, and then the kimchi.

Melt the butter in a cast iron pan over medium heat.  Add slices of bread and cook until cheese is melted and kimchi is slightly warmed through.

Meanwhile, spray a small pan with nonstick cooking spray.  Heat pan over medium heat.  Add egg and cook until white are completely set.  Add to one half of sandwich and then form sandwich completely.  Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

