Miso Glazed Beets

25 Jul

For the past few weeks, it has been almost unbearably hot in Cleveland.  And everywhere else.  Living within miles of a Great Lake does not help – the humidity can be a little brutal.  Plus, we only have a window unit in our living room to cool the entire place, which is, as you may have guessed, highly ineffective.

So when we got beets in our CSA, I knew my beloved preparation of oven roasting the beets was out.  But pan-roasting was definitely in, especially since I had recently received some insanely beautiful copper cookware from my Grandma Pat as a gift at my wedding shower.  One of the pieces is a beautiful, deep sauté pan with a tight fitting lid that has already proved its worth beyond measure as far as evenly distributing a wide range of heats to any and all vegetables.  I had mentioned months and months and months ago that I wanted some copper cookware because I had heard about the quality and my amazing grandmother remembered and so now, as a soon-to-be married couple, Zak and I will have these beautiful pots and pans for years and years to come.  I have my wonderful grandmother to thank for that – and for these really yummy beets.

While Zak thought these were overly sweet, I thought the dish was tasty and well-balanced.  The sweetness of the beets and onion was a nice foil to the salty miso and acidic white wine.  The earthiness of the mushrooms and the beets is also quite pronounced, making this a really flavorful and delicious vegetable side dish.  It also reheats well as leftovers in the microwave, which is a big bonus for me since I pack leftovers for lunch most weekdays.

Miso Glazed Beets

3 beets, peeled

2 cups sweet onion (such as knob or Vidalia), sliced into 1/4″ slices

1 cup mushrooms, roughly chopped

2 tbs. butter

3-4 tbs. olive oil

3-4 cloves roasted garlic

1 1/2 tbs. white miso paste

2-3 cups white wine, such as chardonnay

Parmesan, if desired, for serving

In a deep sauté pan with tight fitting lid, heat butter olive oil over medium heat until butter is melted.  Add roasted garlic and whisk until mostly incorporated into the oil.  Add miso paste and whisk until mostly incorporated into the oil.  Add beets, onions, and mushrooms.

Sauté vegetables 3-4 minutes, stirring often to coat with olive oil and miso.  Add 1/2 cup of white wine and cover.  Reduce heat to medium low and simmer 10-15 minutes.  Remove cover and sauté 3-4 minutes until all of wine is evaporated.  Repeat process 3-4 times until beets are cooked through but retain a bit of bite to them, for a total of about thirty five to forty five minutes.  Be sure to monitor the temperature, lowering if necessary.  Remove cover and cook, stirring frequently, until all wine is absorbed.  Serve immediately with starch of choice (we used pearled barley).  Top with a few shakes of Parmesan, if desired.

5 Responses to “Miso Glazed Beets”

  1. inherchucks July 25, 2012 at 5:14 pm #

    These look divine! I can’t wait to give them a try :)

    Come and add this recipe to the link party when you get a chance…http://inherchucks.com/2012/07/19/whats-in-the-box-35/. Looking forward to having you there!

    • kelseyincleveland July 25, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

      It was really good! I had a couple of co-workers grilling me about all the different ways to prepare beets afterwards (because no one wanted to turn on the oven around here the past few weeks). I’ll post the recipe shortly and hope others enjoy it as much as I did.

      • inherchucks July 26, 2012 at 1:03 am #

        I’m sure they will. Thanks for sharing :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Geauga Family Farms Summer CSA – Week Three « Kelseyincleveland's Blog - July 28, 2012

    […] supposed to break a little bit, so I’m thinking those are on the table for this week.  The miso glazed beets I posted this week used the beets from week one of the CSA.  The mushroom and silken tofu in […]

  2. Geauga Family Farms Summer CSA – Week Two « Kelseyincleveland's Blog - August 5, 2012

    […] for dinner and then both packed it for lunch the next day.  I will be posting the recipe for some miso glazed beets that I made over the next few days.  It was definitely awesome to use everything […]

Leave a Reply

