Fried Green Tomatoes (Redux)

7 Aug

I love, love, love, love, looooove fried green tomatoes.  They are one of my very favorite things about summer and one of my very favorite things about my parents garden.  The other day, I stopped by to take care of some stuff for our (rapidly approaching) wedding and pick up Roo Bear¹, who had been having a few night sleepover at his “grandparent’s” house.  My dad provided me with two ripe heirloom tomatoes and two green tomatoes – jackpot!

Though I’ve posted a fried green tomatoes recipe on here before, I think this version is a little better (though, of course, it’s all a matter of taste).  So I thought I would post it again, both because I want to spread the word on how awesome fried green tomatoes are and because it’s a slightly improved recipe.  These fried green tomatoes, while intensely flavorful as is from the tart tomato and salty, crunchy, slightly-spicy coating, are also excellent served with a variety of condiments – for instance, hot sauce, Dijon mustard, or, perhaps my favorite, remoulade.

Fried Green Tomatoes

2 large green tomatoes

1 egg

1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 cup yellow cornmeal

1/4 cup bread crumbs (preferably homemade)

Kosher salt and freshly cracked black pepper

1/4 cup canola oil

Slice tomatoes about 1/2″ thick, discarding the ends.  Heavily salt the tomatoes on both sides and let sit for about five minutes.

Whisk together eggs and milk in a small bowl.  In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, cornmeal, bread crumbs, and salt and pepper on another plate.

Dip tomatoes in egg/milk mixture.  Let excess drip off.  Coat with flour/cornmeal/breadcrumb mixture.

In a large skillet, pour canola oil.  Heat over medium heat until shimmering.  Fry tomatoes, working in batches if necessary.  Fry about 4-6 minutes per side until golden brown.  Drain on paper towels.

¹  Roo says “Hello!”  And also, “Can’t you guys leave some comments encouraging her to share more of these treats with a vizla?!”

 

Leave a Reply

