Geauga Family Farms Summer CSA – Week Five

11 Aug

Geauga Family Farms – Week Five

In this week’s CSA, we received two heads of lettuce, a green bell pepper, four juicy looking tomatoes (I think beefsteak), two onions, a cantaloupe, and a watermelon.

My only real gripe about the use of last week’s ingredients is the fact that I didn’t use up any of the lettuce.  The patty pan squash is also still knocking about, along with a few of the redskins and the watermelon.  The amount of lettuce hanging around means I really, really need to make a salad.  I’ll probably do some greens with a poached egg for a light lunch one day this week, but a big salad definitely needs to happen for dinner one evening.

I’m glad the watermelon is still around, because we received another one this week and I plan to make some agua fresca out of it.  I became addicted to the stuff after I had it a few years back at La Fondita in Amagansett and will be super pleased to have a nice big pitcher of it in the fridge.  From last week, the corn went into making another batch of esquites, as well as the corn and tomato chowder I recently posted.  Some of the tomatoes also well into the chowder.  I stuffed the Hungarian hot peppers, the recipe for which will be posted shortly.  A lot of the tomatoes also got used up in that dish as a bright, fresh, tomato sauce.

For this week, my plan includes watermelon agua fresca, a salad, and perhaps some breadcrumb stuffed tomatoes.  I plan to keep things simple and easy, since we are getting married a week from today and I am going to be busy with last minute preparations and moot court boot camp.  The weather has cooled down significantly and is supposed to stay relatively cool, so I’ll probably roast some potatoes (probably in the olive oil I saved from confiting duck wings awhile back).  As for the cantaloupe, I’ll probably just cut it up and eat it as a snack, since it’s one of my favorite melons.

4 Responses to “Geauga Family Farms Summer CSA – Week Five”

  1. Tammy August 11, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

    Roasted redskins are my go-to potluck dish.

  2. inherchucks August 11, 2012 at 9:55 pm #

    Watermelon agua fresco sounds like the perfect summer sip!

Leave a Reply

