Archive | 7:06 pm

Watermelon Agua Fresca

16 Aug

Every year for the Fourth of July, Zak and I visit one of his best friends in Amagansett, New York.  We always have a great time.  One of the highlights for me each year is a trip to La Fondita for tacos and watermelon agua fresca.  La Fondita is known as having killer fish tacos (per Serious Eats – you can even see the agua fresca in the background!).  I was too enamored with the idea of soft shelled crab tacos to test their claim to fame.  One of my favorite things about the place, though, is their watermelon agua fresca, which is to die for.  The liquid from watermelon is combined with water and sugar to produce a delightfully refreshing summer beverage.

So when we got watermelon two weeks running from the CSA, I knew I would have to create my favorite Hamptons beverage.  This yielded about 1 and a half gallons of the stuff, which we drank in short order.

In other news, Zak and I are getting married on Saturday, so I’ll be taking off from posting for a few days to finish final preparations and recover a little bit, especially since I start law school classes back up on Monday!

Watermelon Agua Fresca

2 medium watermelons, removed from rind, seeds removed and cubed, rinds saved

3-4 cups water

1/2 cup sugar

Place watermelon in a large bowl.  Don’t worry if you don’t get all of the seeds.  Using the back of a knife or large spoon, scrape remaining moisture from the watermelon rind.

Using an immersion blender, puree the watermelon.  Strain through a cheesecloth or a paint strainer bag, being sure to squeeze the remaining pulp thoroughly for any excess moisture (mine went from the size of a football to the size of a baseball).  Discard pulp.

Add water and sugar.  Taste and adjust seasonings as necessary.  Serve chilled.

