Geauga Family Farms Summer CSA – Week Seven

25 Aug

Geauga Family Farms Summer CSA – Week Seven

I was definitely missing the CSA produce after not picking up our share last weekend.  So I am double excited for this week’s share.  Included are Yummy Orange peppers, a head of lettuce, some wonderfully colorful rainbow Swiss chard, three ears of corn, three big tomatoes, a few stalks of rhubarb, a bag of green beans, three little onions, a red pepper, and a green pepper.

Because we had two weeks to get through the produce from week five, we ate pretty much everything.  I ended up tossing some lettuce from a few weeks back that was wilted.  I still have miscellaneous onions and potatoes in the pantry, of course, but those last for ages so I don’t really consider them “leftovers.”  We didn’t eat all of the cantaloupe, though most of it made for a great snack, as I cubed it and placed it in the refrigerator in a big tupper ware to munch on when we felt like something sweet.

I made agua fresca with the watermelons from weeks four and five, which despite the large amount was very quickly consumed because it’s so, so good.  The mushroom and ricotta stuffed Hungarian hot peppers in fresh tomato sauce used peppers and tomatoes from week four of the CSA, and the freshness of the ingredients really elevated it to a higher level.  I made a few charred pepper sandwiches out of the green pepper, since they are one of my summer favorites.

To be honest, I don’t have an extremely clear picture for how I’m going to use this week’s produce – and now that I’m back in school and working, I need to get myself organized!  I know for sure that I want to make crispy roasted green beans, since I so miserably failed by burning them the last time and I’ve been craving them.  I’m considering making a sort of vegetarian burrito bowl with some of the peppers, topped with a play off of the esquites I made awhile back.  I am certainly going to make a big chopped salad to have for lunch a couple of days this week and use the rhubarb as part of a tangy vinaigrette.

One Response to “Geauga Family Farms Summer CSA – Week Seven”

  1. inherchucks August 25, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

    those crispy roasted green beans looks rockin! Will have to try those with my next batch :)

    Come and share your CSA goodness at this week’s party when you get a chance….http://inherchucks.com/2012/08/23/whats-in-the-box-40/. Looking forward to seeing you there!

Leave a Reply

