Geauga Family Farms Summer CSA – Week Nine

8 Sep

 

Geauga Family Farms Summer CSA – Week Nine

This week’s share has an awesome amount of variety, for which I am very excited.  It includes, two red onions, half a dozen long red sweet peppers, a head of lettuce, the most ginormously huge bok choy I’ve ever seen in my life, a green pepper, a red pepper, three tomatoes, a bag of green beans, a yellow squash, an eggplant, and three ears of corn.  I also ordered a dozen eggs as an extra, which are not pictured.

Leftover from last week are the beets, a bit of lettuce, a few of the cherry tomatoes, and the patty pan.

The rhubarb vinaigrette I posted used rhubarb from week seven.  The loaded alfalfa sprout panini with rhubarb vinaigrette used CSA tomatoes and peppers, leftover from the vegetarian burrito bowl I posted a few weeks back.  Finally, the eggs and greens on pancetta roasted naan used a bunch of CSA lettuce.  Zak made an Asian rice dish with a lot of other CSA ingredients.

Now that the weather has cooled down – I don’t think I’ve ever been so excited for sixty degree temperatures in my life, and absolutely cannot wait for fall to begin for real this year – I will definitely making the crispy roasted green beans I’ve been talking about for so long.  Zak bought me some duck wings to experiment with at the Asian market, so I think I’m going to pair those with some roasted beets and crispy roasted green beans.  I want to make a light corn and tomato soup with some of the corn (I also have plenty of cobs leftover in the freezer from previous weeks to make a hearty corn broth).  Tonight, Zak is making a huge pot of chicken-based Vietnamese pho (I’ve posted both vegetarian and beef broth versions before) in which we’ll use up some of that gorgeous bok choy.

3 Responses to “Geauga Family Farms Summer CSA – Week Nine”

  1. Tammy September 8, 2012 at 10:33 pm #

    We finally had a cool day and I also fired up the oven. I have acorn squash in the oven right now.

  2. inherchucks September 9, 2012 at 12:15 am #

    I LOVE bok choy! Here is my favorite recipe. http://inherchucks.com/2012/02/04/turkey-basmati-rice-meatballs-with-bok-choy/.

    Come and link up to this week’s CSA link party when you get a chance…http://inherchucks.com/2012/09/06/whats-in-the-box-42-a-giveaway/. Looking forward to seeing you there!

  3. kelseyincleveland September 9, 2012 at 3:19 pm #

    Yum, Tammy, acorn squash sounds delicious. I was hoping to get a hard squash or two in this week’s share, but no luck. Maybe next week!

    Inherchucks, that bok choy recipe looks to-die-for. I’ve been craving meatballs and that looks like it would be really easy to make a meat portion for me and a vegetarian portion for my husband. I can’t wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

