Geauga Family Farms Summer CSA – Week Ten

16 Sep

Geauga Family Farms Summer CSA – Week Ten

I’m a day late in sharing the produce we received from our CSA this week, but that doesn’t mean I’m any less excited about what our share included.  In this week’s share, we received an eggplant, plenty of apples, a bunch of kale, a head of lettuce, four tomatoes, a head of garlic, a red bell pepper, a green bell pepper, and a bag of green beans.

I’m a little disappointed in our use of the produce from last week.  I attempted to make a corn salad on Wednesday, and the corn was no longer looking very good.  Boo!  I added them to the stock bag, but it was a disappointment.  The red bell pepper similarly went bad, and the long red peppers, some bok choy, and some lettuce are still knocking about.  Both the squash and the eggplant are still around, too.  Basically, we stunk at using produce.  I did use all the green beans we had making crispy roasted green beans to go with my garlic parmesan duck wings.

I am definitely going to make some baba ghanouj with the eggplant from both this and last week.  My parents had a clam bake yesterday and we have a canning jar of some broth to use, so I’m going to make a bok choy soup.  I want to sauté the kale and toss it with pasta in a red pepper pesto.  I’ll eat a few apples out of hand, and the rest will get used to make some homemade pectin.

2 Responses to “Geauga Family Farms Summer CSA – Week Ten”

  1. inherchucks September 16, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    Red russian kale is my favorite variety..so beautiful!

    Come and link up to this week’s CSA Link party when you get a chance…http://inherchucks.com/2012/09/13/whats-in-the-box-43/. Looking forward to seeing you there :)

  2. Tammy September 17, 2012 at 12:11 am #

    I love having clam juice to freeze! Your garlic parmesan duck wings caught the attention of my husband. He loves duck.

Leave a Reply

