Clam and Corn Soup with Kale and Barley

21 Sep

Yesterday, I was feeling under-the-weather enough that I stayed home from work and skipped my evening class.  So for dinner, I wanted soup.  Luckily, I had a quart of clam broth leftover from a recent clam bake at my parents house.  I also wanted something healthy.  Therefore, I knew this soup was the perfect place for the every-so-slightly wilted kale I had from our CSA pick up this past Saturday.  Kale is full of fiber, vitamin A, vitamin K, and tons of other vitamins and nutrients.  Some leftover corn cobs (and frozen kernels) served to lend a hearty sweetness and substance to the broth.  Finally, whole grains in the form of pearled barley are also a wealth of healthy goodness.

But the healthiness of this dish isn’t the main attraction – it’s the taste.  The briney broth is infused with the sweetness of the corn, a slightly bitter herbaceousness from the kale, and a toothsome texture from the barley.  Zak bumped it up a notch by adding a leftover artichoke heart stuffed pepper.  I was happily surprised by how hearty and good this clam and corn soup was without the addition of any cream.  It still had all the lovely flavors of a chowder, but was more of a hearty soup or stew due to the lack of cream.

Clam and Corn Soup with Kale and Barley

1 quart clam broth leftover from a clam bake, or 1/2 qt. chicken broth and 1/2 qt. clam juice

1 tbs. butter, if necessary (see note below)

1 small onion, roughly chopped, if necessary (see note below)

3-4 cloves garlic, roughly chopped, if necessary (see below)

3 cobs corn, kernels removed and reserved

1 cup pearled barley

3 cups kale, roughly chopped

[Note:  The leftover clam broth I used had some onions and garlic in it.  If you are using chicken broth/clam juice combination, first melt 1 tbs. of butter in a medium stock pot and sauté 1 small, roughly chopped onion and 3-4 cloves garlic, also roughly chopped, until tender.]

Add clam broth and corn cobs to a medium stock pot.  Bring to a simmer over medium-high heat.  Add barley and cover.  Simmer over medium heat for forty five minutes to an hour, until barley is tender.

Add corn and kale.  Simmer 3-5 minutes until corn is heated through and kale is wilted.  Serve immediately.

4 Responses to “Clam and Corn Soup with Kale and Barley”

  1. inherchucks September 23, 2012 at 12:44 am #

    This looks awesome! I just got kale and corn in my box this week so I will have to give this a try. I am going to have to omit the clam broth because my husband is allergic to shellfish but I am sure some chicken or veggie stock will do just fine.

    thanks for sharing! Come and link up to this week’s party when you get a chance…http://inherchucks.com/2012/09/19/whats-in-the-box-44/. Looking forward to seeing you there!

    • kelseyincleveland September 23, 2012 at 2:09 pm #

      Our leftover broth from the clam back was built off a base of chicken stock (my dad steams his clams in chicken stock), so I’m sure either chicken or veggie stock would be absolutely delicious. I hope you enjoy it if you do decide to try it. It’s so hands off and smells great while it cooks, too!

      • inherchucks September 23, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

        That’s what I am all about. Easy and delicious!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Geauga Family Farms Summer CSA – Week Eleven « Kelseyincleveland's Blog - September 22, 2012

    […] The artichoke heart stuffed peppers used some Red Carmen peppers from a few weeks back.  The clam and corn soup with kale and barley used both reserved corn cobs and […]

Leave a Reply

