Geauga Family Farms Summer CSA – Week Eleven

22 Sep

Geauga Family Farms Summer CSA – Week Eleven

In this week’s share, we received a head of lettuce, two large kohlrabi with greens attached, several red onions, an orange bell pepper, a green bell pepper, over a dozen apples, over half a dozen sweet potatoes, a bunch of lacinato kale, and a large bunch of basil.

Our leftovers are fairly minimal.  I threw out a few odds and ends of lettuce that were looking pretty grim and some of the bok choy.  I have a patty pan and yellow squash still hanging about, as well a bunch of green beans and a tomato or two.  I ate a few apples, but intentionally saved the rest hoping to get more so I could make some homemade pectin.  Luckily, that gamble paid off.

I roasted off both of the eggplant to make some baba ghanouj, which I intended to do as soon as Zak clears out of the kitchen (he’s currently bottling some beer).  The artichoke heart stuffed peppers used some Red Carmen peppers from a few weeks back.  The clam and corn soup with kale and barley used both reserved corn cobs and kale.

I have a few concrete ideas for this week’s produce.  One of those kohlrabi is getting sliced up to dip in the aforementioned baba ghanouj.  Tonight, I am making kale and ricotta semolina ravioli in a white wine and basil sauce.  To say the least, that will knock off most of the kale and basil.  With any remaining kale and the kohlrabi greens, I plan to make a warm salad wilted in olive oil and fat reserved from my garlic parmesan duck wings, topped with some rye bread crumbs – probably alongside a baked sweet potato.  As I said, I’ll be making some homemade pectin with the apples.

6 Responses to “Geauga Family Farms Summer CSA – Week Eleven”

  1. Tammy September 22, 2012 at 10:45 pm #

    kohlrabi also makes amazing soup.

    • kelseyincleveland September 23, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

      Good to know! How do you use it in soup? Pureed?

      • Tammy September 23, 2012 at 2:09 pm #

        Yes, I saute it with onions and garlic and then add broth and dairy (can skip if you’re vegan). It’s very light and delicate.

  2. inherchucks September 23, 2012 at 12:09 am #

    That ravioli sounds awesome! Will you be sharing a recipe?

    Come and link up to this week’s party when you get a chance..http://inherchucks.com/2012/09/19/whats-in-the-box-44/. Looking forward to seeing you there :)

    • kelseyincleveland September 23, 2012 at 2:06 pm #

      Assuming the recipe turns out well, I will definitely post it. I postponed it until today since I wanted to spend a lazy Sunday cooking all day.

      I just linked up! I’m jealous of your two bunches of kale and all of that gorgeous looking fruit.

      • inherchucks September 23, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

        Thanks for participating! Hope you have a lovely Sunday :) Couldn’t think of a better way to enjoy the day then in the kitchen…

Leave a Reply

