Geauga Family Farms Summer CSA – Week Twelve

29 Sep

Geauga Family Farms Summer CSA – Week Twelve

In this week’s share, we received a big bundle of basil, a red pepper, an eggplant, a butternut squash, a head of garlic, a bunch of Yummy orange peppers, a green bell pepper, about a dozen apples, some scallions, and lettuce.

We don’t have too many leftovers for last week, despite my pathetically sparse posting this week.  We have some lettuce, the kohlrabi, sweet potatoes, and an onion or two.  Luckily, kohlrabi, sweet potato, and onions all have a relatively long shelf life.

Those kale and ricotta ravioli in a white wine basil sauce I talked about turned out not so great … I just could not get the pasta dough to cooperate so I ended up with only a few ravioli.  I would hate to post a recipe with sub par results, so despite the fact that the filling and the sauce were really yummy, I won’t be posting the recipe.  One evening, I made a soup very similar to this mushroom and silken tofu in dashi-miso broth which was absolutely delicious but didn’t justify a post of its own due to its similarity.

I used two week’s worth of apples to make homemade apple pectin, which will come in handy in making jams and jellies.  I had debated even posting the recipe since it’s so simple (quarter apples, cover with water, boil for a long time, basically), but it’s certainly worth knowing how to do.

I have a head cold from hell at the moment, so I want to make a soup.  One of my readers suggested a puréed kohlrabi soup, so I might try that using kohlrabi and onions from last week and garlic from this week.  I will probably make some apple butter with the apples, since I absolutely love it and its super easy.  I’ve been craving a charred green pepper sandwich, so that’s in the cards for one day this week.  My initial plan for the orange peppers is to stuff them with ricotta and then do a spin off of a chile relleno.

Leave a Reply

