Geauga Family Farms Summer CSA – Week Fifteen

20 Oct

Geauga Family Farms Summer CSA – Week Fifteen

Well, we’ve reached the last week of the Geauga Family Farms Summer CSA.  In this week’s share, we received sweet potatoes, two acorn squash, a bunch of collard greens, a bunch of carrots with greens, a bundle of potatoes, and a dozen apples.

Despite cooking at home every night but yesterday and not having gone shopping for a couple of weeks, we managed to have basically everything leftover form last week.  I don’t know how we managed it.  Compounded by my lack of posting, I feel like a bit of a blogging failure.  I made a couple of good dishes but have failed to post them out of sheer laziness.  Basically, I was a total screw up as far as blogging and intelligent menu planning goes this week.

Tonight, I am going to make collard greens and kale simmered in a spicy tomato sauce.  I have an abundance of squash to use – both butternut and acorn, now.  I think I’m going to do a butternut squash and carrot soup one evening.  I have a few different types of peppers to use up (bell, Yummy orange, hot peppers from a coworkers garden, and jalapeños), so I might to a dish that involves some sautéed melange of peppers over some beans and rice.  Almost two dozen apples are sitting on the counter, so I need to either make more apple cider or apple butter or get my lazy butt baking.  If I can accomplish all of that this week, I’ll be left mainly with potatoes and squash, which are safe in the pantry for awhile.

Leave a Reply

