Archive | 8:01 am

Savory Baked Oatmeal and Egg

7 Sep

I admit it.  I have a baked egg problem.  I’ll crack an egg into just about anything and try to bake it, if you give me the chance.  As is obvious, if you look at my baked egg history, my favorite combination is a baked egg with tomatoes, as is represented below in this hearty and filling savory baked oatmeal and egg, replete with some tomatoes and basil.  I’m also a huge fan of any sort of savory oatmeal.  So, one day after coming home from class in the late morning, ravenous but not quite in the mood for lunch, I decided to concoct this breakfast.  I could not have been any happier with the end result.  The oatmeal absorbed the juices from the tomatoes as well as the flavors of the basil and egg while maintaining the rich umami of soy and fish sauce.  And creamy baked eggs worked beautifully with the soft oatmeal.  I am really looking forward to experimenting with variations on this in the future, hopefully including a sweet application.

Savory Baked Oatmeal and Egg

1 cup water

1/2 cup rolled oats

2 tsp. Brummel & Brown

2 tsp. soy sauce, divided

1 tsp. fish sauce

2 tbs. plain Greek yogurt

Half dozen grape tomatoes

1 egg

Freshly cracked black pepper

A few leaves basil, roughly chopped

Preheat oven to 400º.

In a small saucepan, add water and oats.  Set heat to medium.  Bring to a boil and let simmer vigorously about 5 minutes, until creamy and mostly cooked through.  Add 1 tsp. soy sauce, fish sauce, and freshly cracked black pepper.

Pour carefully into an oven safe bowl.  Use a spoon to create an even layer.  Spoon plain Greek yogurt over the oatmeal and spread into a single layer.  Place tomatoes, cut side up, in a ring around the outside of the bowl.

Use a spoon to create a depression in the center of the tomatoes.  Carefully crack the egg into the depression.

Transfer to oven and bake 15-18 minutes until desired consistency.

Top with basil.