Archive | 9:48 am

Honey and Balsamic Baked Figs

29 Sep

I’ve always been a huge fan of figs.  However, it’s hard to find a good one in the grocery stores around here, so I was super excited when my dad told me I could grab a bowl and walk over to the neighbor’s yard to pick my fill of them.  I must confess that I used to sneak over there from time to time as a kid (and teenager … and when I moved back in after I graduated from college …) to steal figs when I thought the coast was clear.  Just one or two.  Shhhh …

Anyway, the figs tasted just as good when I had explicit permission from the fig tree (bush?) owner to take some.  As a special treat, I wanted to make something that really showcased the delicate sweetness and vibrant flavor of the figs, and this preparation fit that bill to a tee.

This picture does not do this beautiful dish justice (as is so often the case on this blog).  This time, it was because I wanted to devour it that very second and figured two pictures were good enough.  Oh well.  Served over some plain Greek yogurt, these figs made up a healthy, delicious, and surprisingly filling breakfast.  They would also make an excellent dessert served atop some vanilla ice cream.  Make sure not to skip the salt and pepper at the end – it really makes the sweetness of the figs shine.  The balsamic adds a bit of a tart bite and rounds the whole thing out.

Honey and Balsamic Baked Figs

About a dozen figs, stemmed and halved

1/4 cup honey

2 tbs. balsamic vinegar

1/4 cup whole almonds, toasted

Kosher salt and freshly cracked black pepper

Preheat oven to 350º.

Mix together honey and balsamic vinegar in a small saucepan.  Heat over low heat until a syrup forms, whisking frequently, about 4 minutes.  Add almonds.  Toss figs with honey and balsamic mixture.

Place on a tinfoil lined baking sheet, cut sides up.

Bake 10-12 minutes until beginning to brown.  Season liberally with kosher salt and freshly cracked black pepper.